top of page
Writer's pictureMare Loch

Shiver

Updated: Jun 6, 2023

 
"She doesn’t know my movies, but she knows all about Marlow,” Gerry groused to Bran, now really trying to embarrass me.

I took a sip of wine before I spoke. “Since you clearly don’t care about my opinion on your acting in Argyll Colony,” waiting for the guilt to soak in. “Even though you re-enacted that speech in Las Vegas on our honeymoon…” and Gerry grabbed my arm, clearly becoming embarrassed. Oh, let’s play, my love.


“Okay,” he said, stopping me and then patting my arm.


I now had the attention of both gentlemen and I continued. “Let me tell you both about Mr. Marlow,” I began, ready to inform them of the knowledge they so clearly lacked. They stood still, watching me.


“I can’t speak for all women, but I will. When you see him in interviews, he seems very domestic; a sweet husband, a kind, funny person, and that is something that you can’t fake or act. It makes the right kind of woman want to populate the earth with a man like that,” I said, pointing at them. I had all of their attention now.


Then I started to speak slower. “However, when you see him act,” and it seemed as if Gerry and Bran moved a little closer, to hear a little better. “He becomes serious, he becomes dangerous. And that danger, my dear husband, makes women…shiver.” I bit my lip and inhaled loudly. “Do you know what I mean by shiver, Gerry?” I asked as my finger ran along Gerry’s sleeve. Gerry watched my finger travel along the fabric, and he nodded slowly as the red ran into his beautiful tan cheeks.


I wasn’t done yet. I leaned into Gerry and could feel him getting hard against my backside. I looked at Bran and raised my eyebrow, speaking quietly in almost a whisper. “You should just watch him smoke a cigarette.” I was thinking about it myself as I swallowed more wine, wishing I had a cigarette.


That did it. A very long silence ensued, mouths agape, eyes staring at me. Finally, Bran broke the uncomfortable silence. “Wow,” he whispered, finally blinking. I am certain these two actors were going to be doing a search on YouTube before the night was over, to learn all about sexual danger.


What Gerry didn’t realize was, he already possessed that kind of danger and the thought of it made me shiver.

 


Copyright 2021, 2022. Mare Loch © All rights reserved. Excerpt from Orange Grove: The Reformation of a Midlife Wife by Mare Loch.


The characters and events portrayed on this website and all subsequent publications are fictitious. Any similarity to real persons, living or dead, is coincidental and not intended by the author. No part of this website may be reproduced, or stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without express written permission of the publisher.
13 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Twitter
  • Facebook
bottom of page