top of page
Writer's pictureMare Loch

Self-Portrait

Updated: Jun 6, 2023

“If there’s anything I think we’ve learned here today it’s that Gerry doesn’t lie. You on the other hand,” Billy said pointing at me, “will say anything.”

Billy asked, “Is that a movie poster over your desk? I don’t recognize the movie.” Gerry and Grant both laughed, and I sunk a little lower in the sofa.


“That’s a self-portrait by my wife,” Gerry said. Billy’s eyes got big, and he turned and looked at me.


“Truly?” he asked.


“He’s lying!” I hissed but I couldn’t keep a straight face and dropped my face in my hands as Gerry laughed. Janet and Lisa looked at each other.


“I have to see this,” Lisa said, and they both went down the hall to find it.


“If there’s anything I think we’ve learned here today it’s that Gerry doesn’t lie. You on the other hand,” Billy said pointing at me, “will say anything.” I started laughing and Billy did, too. Standing, I followed the other ladies down the hall to Gerry’s office. As Janet, Lisa and I began to discuss the painting and the benefit of wigs and tight undergarments, the three men appeared.


I had painted a large canvas of me on my motorcycle, wearing my blonde wig, spiked boots, a Clutch band T-shirt and leather. Lots of leather. I painted the words to one of Clutch's songs behind the image and it had song lyrics in 10-inch-high type behind me said 'Bang Bang Vamanos Vamanos'.


Nothing about this painting was subtle. Gerry loved it when I gave it to him, wanted to have a copy of it in his Solus office and I refused to let him do it. Now he showed it to whomever was unlucky enough to wander into its view.





 


Excerpt from "Orange Grove: The Reformation of a Midlife Wife" available on Amazon. Copyright Mare Loch 2022 © All rights reserved.


The characters and events portrayed on this website and all subsequent publications are fictitious. Any similarity to real persons, living or dead, is coincidental and not intended by the author. No part of this website may be reproduced, or stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted in any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without express written permission of the publisher.





32 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


  • Twitter
  • Facebook
bottom of page